Gallup survey found that 40 percent of Americans consider themselves conservative

Conservatives continue to make up the largest segment of political views in the country, outnumbering liberals nearly two-to-one, according to a new poll Thursday.

The Gallup survey found that 40 percent of Americans consider themselves conservative; 35 percent consider themselves moderate; and 21 percent see themselves as liberal. The figures did not change from 2010 to 2011. 35 percent in 2011.

In fact, both self-identified conservatives and liberals have risen in number since the early 1990s, indicating a growing polarization in American politics.

While self-identified conservatives dominate the Republican Party, making up 71 percent, the Democratic Party is more split — 39 percent of Democrats view themselves as liberal, and 38 percent consider themselves moderates.

Meanwhile, independents are mostly moderate (41 percent), but skew more toward conservatism (35 percent) than liberalism (20 percent).

The Gallup survey, which was conducted from January to December 2011, includes 20,392 respondents and has a margin of error of plus or minus one percentage point.

 

Read more: http://www.politico.com/news/stories/0112/71385.html#ixzz1jIdneddo

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. akbagirly
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 22:22:10

    I would have to see the poll questions in order to judge how accurate this poll actually may be.

    For instance………………a lot of people would describe most of my political views as “liberal”, and yet I live a very “conservative” lifestyle (married 27 years, heterosexual, monogamous, don’t drink, smoke, or do drugs, have two high achieving kids, stay-at-home mom, frequent classroom volunteer, girl scout leader, never been arrested, attend church despite being an atheist, pro border control, think that pedophiles and rapists should get life in prison, etc.), and yet I ALWAYS vote Democrat.

    I could see a person like me checking the “Conservative” box, unless the questions very specifically defined what was meant by that term.

    Reply

    • Syrin
      Jan 13, 2012 @ 14:17:11

      Girl, that sounds like my life! You’re just living on your own terms! I see you promoting the idea of life, liberty and freedom to pursue your own happiness. I almost think it can be done devoid of labels or stereotypes.

      Reply

  2. WakeUpAmerica
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 04:14:12

    I always considered myself a moderate until recently. The platform of the far right has moved the center so much that I now find myself deep in liberal territory.

    Reply

  3. climber357
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 11:29:34

    I consider myself a conservative.

    Always have.

    Sarah is not.

    Reply

  4. Syrin
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 14:01:08

    I have always identify myself as conservative, but, finding myself in agreement with some of the Liberatian points of view.
    Libertarians, seek a world of liberty; a world in which all individuals are sovereign over their own lives and no one is forced to sacrifice his or her values for the benefit of others.
    http://www.lp.org/platform

    Reply

  5. Gem
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 16:27:14

    I need to see the questions. I’m conservative, but I also believe in helping the poor and doing what is best for the common good and I think that government needs to do this. I like infrastructure being taken care of, and I want to see our emergency and state personnel get paid fairly for their work. I think we need to go back to the original separation of church and state. I like libertarian ideas, but we need safety nets.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Syrin From Wasilla’s Stats

