Syrin’s Summer Playlist- 30 of the Best of the 70’s

All music touches the soul…. It doesn’t matter what type of music you like, nor does it matter whether the music has a profound message or any message at all.
 
This list is just a compilation of  the BEST of  ‘Pop Rock’. Not all  the music genre of the seventies is included. I thought that ‘Captain and Tennille’ were a BIG deal in the 70’s. Not included in this list.
If you have another idea of what the ‘BEST’ is for that decade please share it with us. Music marks memories and sparks feelings.

I found this from 1977
Ann and Nancy from HEART doing my personal favorite song of all time.. Crazy On You.. On the show…..The Midnight Special.

 

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Just_a_Mote
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 20:21:33

    These selections sparked plenty of memories. I lIke your ‘lists’.

    Reply

    • Syrin
      Jul 23, 2011 @ 10:13:38

      Good! I was hoping that they would bring back some memories of time past. Nothing wrong with reminiscing! Thank you for your comment. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Linda1961
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 03:21:07

    Great list. Thanks for the memories!

    Reply

  3. teal
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 06:29:03

    loving your selections
    Im a big 5th dimension fan, and not just their hits.
    …if only music could end the crazyness going on in the world…

    Reply

    • Syrin
      Jul 23, 2011 @ 10:21:50

      Teal, thanks for adding the 5th Dimension. They were one of my mom’s favorite groups! Also remember Peaches and Herb? Reunited and it feels so good..
      Yes, music brings us back to humanity. No matter who or what your passions are, music can help us all rise above the crazy in the world for just a moment.

      Reply

  4. climber357
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 08:12:18

    In addition to the above, I listened to a lot of David Bowie and Steely Dan in the Rock genre, Carole King and Carley Simon (genre?), Album Oriented Rock (remember that?), glitter rock and Top 10. I danced to Earth, Wind and Fire, Abba, KC and the Sunshine Band and other Disco artists.

    We took our music seriously, didn´t we? Our children are amazed when their mother and I ¨know all the songs¨ on the radio.

    Reply

    • Syrin
      Jul 23, 2011 @ 10:06:16

      I love all that you listed, climber! I saw Steely Dan in concert. Guess which song they did not sing? Yep, the only one I wanted to hear! “Ricki Don’t lose that number” I saw Cheap Trick in concert. Love, love, love them!I took my sister to see The Knack in concert. Remember them? My Sharona

      Reply

  5. dz
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 08:40:21

    Great list, we matched on a little over half. Guess I’ve a fondness for Fleetwood not shared by others but have to agree on a Freddie heavy list!!! The sports arenas wore out Champions but I’m always tuned into Radio Ga Ga,

    Thx for a great video and luv your blog.

    Reply

    • Syrin
      Jul 23, 2011 @ 09:30:50

      Thank you for mentioning Fleetwood Mac. KC and the Sunshine band, Bay City Rollers. I love it all! I also was fond of that music. You are so right this list is heavy on Queen- but every song was very popular and is now a classic! Everyone knows “We are the Champions” . We’ve gone to many weddings where they are playing “Another One Bits the Dust”

      Reply

  6. Syrin
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 09:27:26

    Lynyrd Skynyrd— Free Bird brings back lots of memories.
    Isn’t it interesting how the music is so different throughout the 70’s? The beginning is similar to the old style 60’s rock but by 1975 the music is so completely different. I like to see which artist overlap the decades. Aerosmith, Stones.
    One of my favorite bands that is NOT included in this list is HEART..

    This is from a 2000 performance. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GYbyCIxSY_w HEART is still kickass Rocker chicks!

    Reply

  7. Eli
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 11:17:29

    Yay! Bob Marley! My husband has a framed picture of him in our living room.

    Two songs that bring me to tears: George Harrison’s My Sweet Lord and Bette Midler’s The Rose.

    Thank you, Syrin; for the stroll down memory lane 🙂

    Reply

  8. Pat in MA
    Jul 24, 2011 @ 11:07:47

    Great post, thanks for the flashback to the 70s. Our sense of fashion was questionable, but certainly not our music! Songs I know the words to! Checked my ipod, a couple of my favorites – Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard /Paul Simon, Heart of Glass / Blondie, Will it Goes Round in Circles / Billy Preston
    Billy Joel 70s albums: Turnstiles, Piano Man, 52 Street

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Syrin From Wasilla’s Stats

