I AM YOUR GRANDMA

 Dedicated to my second grandchild Uriah Kohen! Born May 4 11:12p in Wasilla, Alaska

 I had a guest over last night – our first grandchild, grandson Ezra (the big brother) and we tried waiting up for Uriah’s grand entrance into this world!

But, after hours of swinging, playing basketball, running down the hall at top speed and building towers with blocks to the sky, we just couldn’t do it!


 

As I hold you in my arms for the first time I look down at your innocent face and tell you

“I am your Grandma”

and I tell you what good friends we’ll become I promise you that my heart will always be a safe

haven where my love for you will know no obstacles

I will always have faith in you and believe in you My home will always be your home

You are my second chance, sweet innocent baby

My second chance to bake cookies, and watch the sparkling anticipation in your eyes

My second chance to sit and rock a baby to sleep in my arms, experiencing the tiny heart beating next to mine as you rest upon my chest

My second chance to experience the wonder of a child discovering he can walk and blow dandelions into the sky

A second chance to view the world through the innocence of a child’s heart

And this time, there will be no rushing to keep schedules and clean the house

You have the advantage of my years and having gained the wisdom of knowing what’s really important in life

You have the advantage that I know my place in the world and that a few cobwebs don’t really matter

As the poem goes, you have the advantage that I now know that babies don’t keep

I promise to be a child with you when you need me to be

and a source of strength when that’s what you need from me

I promise that you will hear more yeses from me and fewer no’s, but I will always

honor and respect the place of your mother and father, into whose care

God has placed you. I will never try to outshine them or diminish their role in your life

For as much as I love you, they love you more

We’ll grow old together …

I’ll just get there a little sooner

And someday, when I’m gone, you’ll look back upon all the times we shared and you’ll smile

The word “Grandmother”

will always hold a special place in your heart just as you have always held one in mine

~~ Author Unknown ~~

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. climber357
    May 05, 2011 @ 11:02:31

    Congratulations!
    ¨A baby is God´s opinion that life should go on,¨ Carl Sandburg.
    What a great way to top off an already great week!

    Reply

  2. daisydem
    May 05, 2011 @ 11:45:07

    Congratulations Syrin and what a lovely letter to your granddaughter. Happy days ahead for all of you.

    Reply

  3. daisydem
    May 05, 2011 @ 11:45:45

    Oops, grandson.

    Reply

  4. Laura Novak
    May 05, 2011 @ 12:03:12

    Congratulations and a beautiful sentiment, indeed.

    Reply

  5. curiouser
    May 05, 2011 @ 12:22:18

    Congratulations, Syrin, and Welcome to Uriah Kohen! What a heart-warming letter!

    Reply

  6. Kalena
    May 05, 2011 @ 12:55:30

    Congratulations on your new grandson! I love that letter and copied it to save for my first grandchild to be born this fall.

    Reply

    • Syrin
      May 05, 2011 @ 17:28:02

      Congratulations to you! Being a grandparent is an amazing state of being!

      Thank you so much for your comment. Yes, please take it and pass it around. It said exactly what I wanted to say to each of my grandchildren as they arrive in this world. I posted it for my first grandson Ezra Samuel.. There is a few pictures of him scattered around the blog.

      Reply

  7. pvazwindy
    May 05, 2011 @ 14:06:39

    Beautiful Syrin. The love of a grandparent is special and from the heart. Enjoy them.

    Reply

  8. MrsGunka
    May 05, 2011 @ 16:05:20

    Beautiful Syrin! My grand babies have grown now, but starting on the GREAT grands!!!! Brought some tears in my eyes. Congratulations on the new one! Aren’t they tiny! Love the poem!

    Reply

  9. Sarah HalfTime
    May 05, 2011 @ 16:35:45

    Sweeeet !
    Congrats Syrin.

    Now, down to the real info: What kind of cookies?
    (ah, the poem mentions making cookies… )

    Reply

    • Syrin
      May 05, 2011 @ 17:23:22

      Peanut butter cookies are my favorite. You know, a crisscross with a fork… I think I need to grab Ez in a day or so and make a batch..

      Reply

  10. Syrin
    May 05, 2011 @ 17:20:04

    Thank you for all your wonderful comments, I appreciate them very much.

    Reply

  11. Sarah Palin has a serpent's heart
    May 05, 2011 @ 18:13:15

    Congratulations Syrin! Enjoy your new grandson.

    Reply

  12. sandi
    May 05, 2011 @ 19:52:52

    What a lovely letter to your new grandchild! I am babysitting my second one, the only one who has ever had my undivided attention as I am retired. He gets what all my kids should have had – long naps against my neck, lots of laughing on diaper changes, just sitting together quietly. Too bad our kids miss out too often on these times as we try to get our life together as parents, working and providing for all. The baby time is just simply the best for me – although, I loved teaching my granddaughter how to use a phone tonight 🙂 She was busy “surprising” everyone (Mom, Dad, Pop, and me) with phone calls. I guess that is why I enjoy grand mothering so much – I can just “be” with the kids. I wish I could have done the same earlier, or even had the same with my own grandparents. Life is good.

    Thanks, syrin, for sharing and enjoy those boys.

    Reply

  13. Kevin
    May 05, 2011 @ 21:00:33

    Congratulations, Syrin!
    Uriah = The Lord is my light — a rare name in 21st century America, but a good one!

    Kevin

    Reply

  14. majii
    May 06, 2011 @ 10:44:14

    I am so happy for you and your family, Syrin! Congratulations!!

    Reply

  15. AKRNC
    May 06, 2011 @ 15:59:01

    Syrin, Congratulations on the birth of your second grandson. Welcome to the world, Uriah Kohen! Grandchildren are definitely our reward, our second chance to enjoy all the little things we might have missed out the first time around in our initial parenting experience. Enjoy your time with your grandchildren, Palin will wait!

    Reply

  16. Trackback: Weekly Roundup: Mother's Day | Waxing UnLyrical
  17. Syrin
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 10:56:40

    By chance I went back and read all the messages of congratulations that I missed.. Thank you so very much for taking time to comment on what is the center of my life, my grandchildren. Uriah is 2 monthes old now.. Check him out wearing his own special made tshirt for Grampa Tom’s racing team. Love the precious smile and dimples to boot! http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/268106_2067591522974_1040390493_2376445_8201513_n.jpg
    Here’s my first grandson Ezra Samuel.. 2 1/2 yrs old. http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/254040_1976386562907_1040390493_2299627_5096947_n.jpg

    Reply

  18. Nannawendy
    Feb 05, 2013 @ 07:46:56

    wonderful.

    Reply

  19. Trackback: Shonali Burke Consulting, Inc. | Weekly Roundup: Mother's Day

Leave a Reply

Syrin From Wasilla’s Stats

