Curious how many more of “this guy” follows the Palin manifesto?

Sarah, Palin and Stupid.

BY mrwednesdaynight

I made a new friend yesterday.  I was at my regular watering hole, seated at my regular place at the bar, sipping my regular Saturday fare, when a non-regular ponied up to the bar next to me.  This particular establishment isn’t one of those where the record-player needle scratches anytime a new fish enters (though there is a record player), and it’s not typically busy during the day on a Saturday, so a new face was welcomed.

He was a contractor in from out of state on a job and had dropped in on recommendation.  It did give us pause that someone, presumably of the status quo, had recommended our ramshackle heap, but he was well-spoken and conversational, and this is a joint where good conversation (that is, yelling matches that almost turn violent until someone’s wife shows up) is encouraged.

We were kind of taken aback, though, by his immediate insistence on talking politics.  Now, understand that this is a place where almost anything goes.  Not long ago we debated the outcome of an imagined poetry slam pitting Mitch “Blood” Green and Sylvia Plath, and tensions still haven’t completely evaporated from a recent debate that got a little out of control over the relationship between Bob Sagat and Uncle Jesse from “Full House.”

Politics, though, are generally avoided, just because it is an insufferably boring topic.  There have been occasions where political content was presented in an entertaining way (years ago, a guy whose name rhymes with Slondale etched his name into Our Bar lore by juxtaposing Bill Clinton and Jesse Jackson’s concurrent extramarital affairs, and how each would have more logically hooked up with the other’s squeeze), and that’s acceptable, but typically political discussions are discouraged.

And discourage we did, but to no avail.  I even tried to instigate a fight over a nearby game of dominoes just to change the subject, but the usually salty participants were too disenchanted by the political droning to even bother with mama jokes.

I emphasize this general aversion to anything political in an effort to not appear biased in the meat of this blog.

This gentleman could’ve been talking about any politician and it would’ve bombed in this establishment.

He wasn’t focused on just any politician, though…

He was a Palin man.

And as some of you know, I’m the opposite of a Palin man.

I asked him why, given that she’s just out-and-out stupid, he would want her as his president. He informed me that he in fact does not find her to be stupid, and finds her “realness” refreshing.   

I asked him what policies of hers resonates with him, and he cited her respect of the Constitution.  I asked what he means by that, in relation to other potential Republican candidates.  Would he vote for Palin over Ron Paul, or Mike Huckabee?  Aren’t they constitutional?  He said he hasn’t a problem with either one, but that he would vote for Palin over either in a primary.

In a last ditch attempt to just get off the danged blasted subject, I bought (in so far as I “buy” at this place) him a pint of the signature brew on tap.  I figured maybe we could instead talk about beer, or something.  He took a sip of it, never touched it again, and didn’t miss a beat in his Palin manifesto.  

Again, this guy was intelligent, made good money, and by all appearances was perfectly rationale and lucid.  

It made me curious how many more of “this guy” there are out there.  

I assume many readers would vote for Palin over Obama.  That’s not my question.

Does anyone view her as the best option for president?  Would anyone vote for her over Paul, Huckabee, Gingrich, etc?  

If yes, does that mean you don’t value common sense and intellect as traits of a president?

 

http://cjonline.com/blog-post/mrwednesdaynight/2011-04-03/sarah-palin-and-stupid

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aklucia
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 14:40:36

    It is curious how this type of guy always says she is a breath of fresh air. Unlike your assessment, I usually find this type of guy pretty overwhelmed by her appearance. There is just no “there” there.

    Reply

    • Syrin
      Apr 03, 2011 @ 17:40:21

      Although I agree in the most part with this author’s take on his new friend… I think just by the eagerness and willingness of “this guy” to spew what is the ‘Palin manifesto’ It’s the opposite of intelligent, who cares if he made good money, and by all appearances was perfectly rationale and lucid. Looks can be deceiving until they open up their mouth! There is NO there–there!

      Reply

  2. maddie
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 14:57:05

    He may have looked and acted like he was intelligent, but he was not thinking with his head. Sarah is so dumb and it is a shame that her looks are why people (especially men) are going to vote for her. She believes in the constitution for Herself, but whines when someone talks against her thinking they should not have the same free speech rights she does. Sarah is the biggest fake in the world.

    Reply

  3. Diane
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 15:20:50

    A policy is not”respect for the constitution” that is a belief. Online policy is defined as “a definite course of action adopted for the sake of expediency, facility,etc”
    He could not respond because palin doesn’t do policy. That’s to mind consuming, boring, means you need to know about the subject, country you are forming a policy around. And it doesn’t make money.
    All Congressmen, women and the POTUS follow the Constitution. palin and her teaparty friends have a different religious interpretation of the Constitution.

    Reply

    • KiheiKat
      Apr 04, 2011 @ 00:59:13

      I agree except for the fact that all Congressman/woman follow the Constitution. The Republicans there, for the most part, talk about it but don’t follow it unless it’s convenient for them in a given moment. They twist it just like Sarah does to suit their purposes. Example: The House passing a bill that says what they pass becomes a law without the Senate & the President’s signature.

      They’re required to adhere to the Constitution, but don’t/won’t. The laws apply to everyone but them & their views.

      Reply

  4. WakeUpAmerica
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 15:23:33

    The men who think with their little head will vote for her. Their girlfriends and wives will cancel their votes.

    Reply

  5. Climber357
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 15:55:21

    He’s never seen The Belmont Stakes photos. You know, the ones that scream “Hey everyone, it’s me, Sarah, and these are my breasts! Look at them! Look at them! Look at them!”

    Reply

    • Syrin
      Apr 03, 2011 @ 17:58:46

      And look they did! LOOK LOOK LOOK it will just keep her in the media.. it created a whole new conspiracy.. Did she get a boob job? I ask you-
      What was that ‘boob’ or ‘boobs’ even doing there?

      Reply

  6. Merry
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 17:10:36

    A couple years ago my (then)M.D. thought she should replace Michael Steele. I nearly fell over. It is the hormones. It has to be. There is absolutely no rational way for anyone with half a brain to think she is anything but a moron. An old boyfriend used to use the expression, “co-k for brains”, and while I find it sexist, it does explain a lot.

    Reply

  7. Lynn
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 17:14:46

    Do you think he was a spy for Sarah Palin? Even if he was from out of town the Palin-bots could have some how guide him there to drum up a fight.

    The guy can not be that intelligent! Because anyone that thinks Sarah Palin is intelligent is NOT! They could think she is Hot ok, she does have a look, but not intelligent at ALL! Dumb as Dumb can be!

    Reply

  8. Just_a_Mote
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 17:16:40

    I’m a man and I think she is a vile succubus. Any “man” who pays attention and still would vote for her is not intelligent. In fact, they would not be a man, they would be a boy.

    Reply

    • Syrin
      Apr 03, 2011 @ 18:07:49

      The problem.. These people DO NOT want to be talked out of their obsession for a clearly incompetent and unethical woman…. For some its easy defending the indefensible, if it looks good!!

      Reply

  9. Syrin
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 17:49:56

    The sad truth is that many don’t value common sense and intellect as traits of a president! What do they value? I don’t have a clue!

    Palin is presently the litmus test that I use for politics and religion to determine whether I’m going to spend my time and breath on organizations and or people!

    Reply

  10. AKLynne
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 18:48:35

    Today I discovered that a distant cousin of mine, who so wanted to “friend” all his relatives on Facebook could hardly wait to unfriend me when he saw the posts I added…color me liberal white female Alaskan who despises all Sarah Palin stands for and supports my president 100% percent.

    I have no idea how he happens to be on my family tree.

    Reply

    • Syrin
      Apr 03, 2011 @ 20:38:24

      Thank you for your comment.. Love hearing from fellow Alaskans!

      You said that you despise what Palin stands for… what does she stand for? Palin is representing me, carrying a label as a conservative, christian republican. She’s manipulating that system and those that oppose them want to see someone so clearly incompetent in a GOP leadership role. Sarah Palin is a fraud, an imposter! She stands for nothing and those who support her and or worship her can fall for anything!

      Reply

  11. ag
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 20:19:27

    I’m finding it’s much more healthy to be very disengaged in the process, I mean really, whose life really changes under any administration, from the President to the Mayor? My life has remained much the same regardless of who is in power so I’m going back under my rock and burning my voter registration card; it makes no difference in this world whether I am a participant or not.

    Reply

    • KiheiKat
      Apr 04, 2011 @ 01:09:45

      You couldn’t be more misguided about not voting. It does make a difference – big time. I don’t know your circumstances, but non action has brought more harmful consequences to the people of this country than can be imagined. Please take the time to do your research & vote. It doesn’t take much time and it DOES make a difference. The people of Wisconsin and what they’re going through because of lack of action are prime examples.

      Reply

    • fromthediagonal
      Apr 04, 2011 @ 03:04:04

      ag, please do not burn your voter registration card.

      Please remain informed! Please Vote! Whenever you can!

      Too many citizen have your attitude, and this is why we are being overrun by those who foster the defeatist mindset of “It does not matter whether I vote or not” for their own nefarious purposes. If we willingly surrender our rights to vote, we will have precipitated out downfall.

      Reply

  12. Tom
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 21:48:51

    A couple of years ago my youngest son and his wife got upset whenever I would tell them about the latest Palin escapades. About a year or so ago they began to tell me about them . I’m still surprised when I hear someone praise her.

    Reply

  13. ozmud
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 00:56:50

    No matter how well groomed or intellectual a man may appear we must forever be mindful of this simple principle of nature:
    A man has two heads but there is only enough oxygen to reach one of them at any given time. When engaged in any discussion with any man, it is therfore always advisable to discern through which head the gentleman is currently speaking.

    Reply

  14. DS
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 03:19:17

    Seems a little suspicious – a stranger who wants to only talk about electing Palin as president?? How many more of “this guy” are there out there? As many as Sarah has on her payroll.

    Reply

  15. Ron
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 04:58:37

    So you think that Obamba is smarter than Ms. Palin? I will vote and campaign for Sarah over those stupid guys

    Reply

    • grammy11
      Apr 04, 2011 @ 08:10:24

      Ron, Please campaign for SP. You will be doing the Democrats the biggest favor in the world.

      Reply

    • Eli
      Apr 04, 2011 @ 15:59:33

      It’s President Obama; like it or not. You can vote for whomever you want, and I will do the same. However ask yourself this, you are going to vote for a woman who was elected to an office, and mid-term walked away from that office and the people who elected her to become a highly paid celebrity.

      Reply

  16. Just_Me
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 12:46:49

    Although I am not a republican… I have to say Syrin that I love your blogs!! I look forward to my daily Palin fix. I of course will be voting for President Obama although I am not very happy that he has caved quite a bit to republicans. I just wish politicians weren’t so dirty! I am still kind of hoping the bottom 98% rise up against the top 2%. In which way? I don’t know… I don’t care really just as long as we stand together against the BULL Sh**!

    Can someone please answer these questions for me……????

    Does anyone know why all the companies are moving over seas?
    Is it because we have a high corporate tax?
    Is it because they pay folks in other countries… slave wages?
    Is it because they got sick of paying folks like me, what I am worth?
    Is it because they really don’t give a sh** about America?
    Is it because they don’t give a sh** about the middle class?
    Do you folks remember when someone who worked at a grocery store could make a good living?
    Do you remember how Wal-Mart took that away?
    Do you remember a time when we cared about each other?
    Do you remember a time when it didn’t matter what color a person skin was?
    Does anyone know why the Republican Party has changed so much since Lincoln?
    Can anyone explain to me why they don’t think Lincoln was a republican?
    Can anyone seriously look someone else in the face and say I don’t care whether you have affordable health care or not? Another human being?
    Can anyone explain to me why Doctors in this country need 3 houses, 5 cars, 12 vacations a year?
    Someone please help me see why being a f****** republican matters?
    How can republicans be so greedy?
    You can’t take the money with you when you die?
    Really you can’t…

    Email me if you know the answers to these questions: justme_sfu@yahoo.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Syrin From Wasilla’s Stats

