Political beliefs, though, are sacred, usally are not secret.

There was a time when I thought that, to be a truly faithful and believing member of the Church, it was implicitly required that I become much more politically engaged as a conservative. While I still believe that, I suspect that there are many Christians who do not believe this is an unarticulated truth. After all, if Christians (and leaders) of the Church seek inspiration in voting, and if 80-90% of active members (and perhaps leaders) in the U.S. regularly vote for conservative candidates and positions, isn’t that pretty good evidence that political conservatism must be correct? It is hard to believe that God would inspire the overwhelming majority of active Christians to vote the wrong way. As in many other aspects of faith, it's by your choice, it's by your educated or uneducated opinion that a candidate of your choice is chosen, voting is a personal decision that you make- not GOD. 

1. Is the the Church politically neutral and nonpartisan, I believe it is in general. I do not believe that there is an implied wink-wink that I should interpret to mean that God wants me to be a conservative republican.

2. I do believe that God inspires individuals on both side of political disputes. Iron sharpens iron….Thus, I think, at the constitutional convention, those representing the interests of large states and those representing small states were both inspired, and that it was by considering the interests of both that an acceptable solution was found. I think the same is true on most political issues of the day.

3. While the structure and pattern of Church leadership may result in a large representation of capable leaders who are politically conservative, I think the fundamental teachings of the Church support a common political view. I embrace, in particular, Creation, hopeful, healing, participatory, redemptive, accountability, life, democratic and tolerant themes are prevelent. While I know my more progressive thinking brothers and sisters also embrace those principles, I see those principles, as a general matter, as more consistent with a traditional political worldview. Reasonable minds may differ of course.

4. I generally try to avoid political discussions at Church (which would be good advice for me, there are several ex elected officers and state employees who have the same Church home). When overt discussions occur, I try to change the subject, or at least avoid participating in the discussion. In those cases where it is impossible to remain silent, I try to couch my comments in terms of commonality of beliefs, taking ownership of my opinions (using “I” words and not “you” words), and acknowledge implicitly or explicitly that I may be wrong.

5. Even within the party or political labels differing political beliefs, though, are sacred, usally are not secret. While I try to avoid political discussions at Church, I do have a “No More Pa_in” magnet on my car, and my husband and I both did not vote for McCain/ Palin during the campaign. We parked our car at the Church, and never had anyone show destain (even though it was the only anti Palin stickers as far as the eye could see). My views are pretty well known, and most people know if I'm engaged about local issues, current events, if I'm asked my opinion, I will have an opinion.

How do we deal with the conundrum of either (1) one issue conservatives (2) as a conservative in a conservative Church, should we be reaching out to and accepting people based on political idealogy? (3) Is being Christian synanamous with being conservative? 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ken
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 15:49:00

    the only question i have,did have and will have in the future is why do you call your self a conservative,you just took 7 paragraphs to say that all conservatives are wrong and most likely mentaly challenged,al the while calling your self a conservative,are you reallt this blind or are you hoping i am..go drink deeply of the kool-aid and stop being a spy for the sheeple

    Reply

  2. JBodine
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 15:59:00

    Since I discovered Sherry Whitstine, I have asked her for her definition of Conservative, She either does not know, or does not want to be exposed as a fraud to her loyal followers.

    Reply

  3. Syrin from Wasilla
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 17:05:00

    Conservative to the Core
    The question to ask… Is Sarah Palin a conservative? Do you understand that I provide the data that shows she's not conservative, she's not honest, she's not competent. YOU'RE drinkin the koolade! It's Palin's valley trash politics that you're drunk on. I have noticed that all of you are mean drunks… Get some help

    Reply

  4. Syrin from Wasilla
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 17:21:00

    My Conservative view tend toward tradition, equality and living by ethical principles. A large percentage of conservatives are Christians nowadays and can speak openly about their faith. It is a part of our lives, so it may very well come up in conversation. Christians who run in flocks like lemmings and replace Christ with something or someone else have become quite overbearing and insulting. It used to be liberals were quite overbearing and insulting in pushing their views. The conservative viewpoint is not a hateful one. It does, however, seek responsibility, accountability and respect. It does not promote an "entitlement" mentality. It promotes being responsible for what you do, being accountable for your actions and words and earning what you receive. Why would anyone conform to these ideals? A large amount of the chaos in our society these days can be attributed to individual lack of responsibility, accountability and too much laziness. Personally, I am conservative because I believe that I am responsible for my errors, no matter what they are. I do not run from my mistakes or try and spin them so someone else takes the heat. I can own up to things. If I make an error, many times I'll be the first to tell you. It may make things difficult in life, but I can look in the mirror and be proud of who's staring back. People should follow/subscribe to the beliefs that make the most sense to them. I lean toward conservative, but also have views that are more liberal. That carpenter you mention was also the greatest teacher to ever exist. He taught me how to live a good life, raise my children in the way that they should go and be kind to others. I do not see the differing side as being wrong, they just are seeing life differently.

    Reply

  5. JBodine
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 18:19:00

    We are not talking about Governor Palin, we are talking about you. You say you are conservative, your posts betray you. To clear the air you should define and put on the record what you mean by it.

    Reply

  6. ken
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 19:26:00

    so if i can believe your words, what you are is blind,you don't understand that your disgraced senator asked for money when the rest of the country was asked to tighten their belt and when he had it explained to him like he was a 5 year old child he still would not understand it..your gov. pallin is trying to bring sense to this country that is being sold a mountain of lies from every possible angle including our own media,that you have lost your faith in your rep. party,your country and your god is almost understandable.but to try to reclaim it by attempting to destroy others that refuse to give up is a sin in every possible meaning of that word

    Reply

  7. JBodine
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 21:00:00

    The ten first principles of Conservatism. go here and compare Sherry's principles, with the principles of Conservatism. You may just discover that this unrepentant hate monger, Sherry Whitstine is not a conservative. Sure she adopts minor aspects, but that is about it.
    You say "Personally, I am conservative because I believe that I am responsible for my errors'. I don't believe you, you don't know what accountability is, take your Blog to your Pastor, let his see you for the perveyor of gossip that you are and be accountable to the Church. Woman up and inform us as to the outcome.
    Yea, I know you will not respond to this, you will not subject yourself to the accountability of the Church for your conduct. You do not have 1/10 of the courage of Governor Palin.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Syrin From Wasilla’s Stats

