Ted Stevens for governor

Alaska Loves Uncle Ted


Posted on 01 April 2009

By Dan Fagan

Let me be the first to say it: Ted Stevens for governor in 2010. Now that his name has been cleared, Stevens is the Alaskan best equipped to undo the mess we have gotten ourselves into.

If Stevens ran, he would win. My guess is he would capture 90 percent of the vote. Some might say he couldn’t beat Palin. He would smoke Palin. But that’s a moot point anyway because she’s done with Alaska politics.

Imagine how Stevens would approach his new job as governor. On his first day, he would sit down with the oil producers and make sure the state was doing everything it could to make the gas pipeline project economically viable. He would negotiate fiscal terms his first week in office. He would let the producers know the rules and remove the state as one of the roadblocks to the project.

Governor Stevens would then explain to the people what a silly idea AGIA was and abandon it immediately. He would have a "come to Jesus" meeting with TransCanada.

His second day in office would find him beginning the process of undoing ACES. I can hear him now.

“This, this, high production tax, this thing is killing us. Did you know we doubled the production, the production taxes on the oil industry in Alaska? You. you, you are just asking for trouble when you double taxes. Why, did, did you know Alaska is now the highest taxing oil and gas province in the world. In the world! We’ve got to, got to undo this nonsense. I don’t care what the media tells you, we’ve got to lower, lower taxes in the state or we are not going to have anything to tax.“

There would be no kissing up to the opinion page of the Daily News if uncle Ted was in charge. The days of Les Gara being the Republican governor’s biggest cheerleader would come to a screeching halt.

Alaska has taken a dramatic turn to the left with its policies over the past two years. We need a strong leader without a pandering bone in his body to lead us out of this “closed for business mentality.” Stevens has the clout and the fire within to do just that. Now only that, but Stevens would undoubtedly know that the governorship would be his political swan song and he would hold nothing back. An unleashed Stevens could make up a lot of lost ground in very short order.

Who’s with me on this? Stevens for governor in 2012. Fearless leadership with attitude.

Read More

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JBodine
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 10:36:00

    Cut and Paste Queen of the Great White North is alive and well today, not capable of an original coherent thought on her own. Competence here is in serious doubt. Did staff actually do the work her? CPQGWNINO

    Reply

  2. ken
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 11:23:00

    her real problem is that she's a wolf in sheeps clothing she hates all things republican the rest is just hot air coming out of her blow hole

    Reply

  3. Vivacious_Vixen
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 16:04:00

    JB, I thought you liked the governor.

    Reply

  4. xango_xango
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 09:11:00

    Maybe we could get a "twofer" exchange.

    Reply

  5. xango_xango
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 09:12:00

    The rest of my post:We could exchange Todd and Sarah for Teddy!

    Reply

  6. JBodine
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 13:12:00

    Nice try. I can look at this two ways, 1. You likewise are not capable of an original coherent thought on you own, or you are one of Sherry Whitstine's (otherwise known as the Cut and Paste Queen of the Great White North) sycophants.
    I so wanted to have a higher opinion of you, I am saddened you have strived so stridently to prove yourself to have a vacant mind.

    Reply

  7. Syrin from Wasilla
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 13:45:00

    Hey JB- sycophant is my word to describe you, changed to sarahphant!
    Cut and Paste Queen of the Great White North ……..I LIKE IT!

    Reply

  8. JBodine
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 14:02:00

    Sorry, sarahphant is not a word. As for your use of the word sycophant to describe me, a bit presumptous don't you think. I will use your words from your private correspondence to me, "you don't know me" and you have made no effort.
    Now, seriously no pun or sarcasm. I like Governor Palin. I have asked you to present facts to me to influence my opinion of her. What have you done, impune my character, call me names,sycophant amoung them. If you want to be taken seriously get off of the hate wagon and let's have a reasoned discussion.

    Reply

  9. JBodine
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 14:06:00

    Cut and Paste Queen of the Great White North ……..I LIKE IT!
    Glad you like it, you ought to change the name of your Bog, It better reflects who you are

    Reply

  10. laura
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 19:00:00

    Why should Syrin be the only one to give you facts about Sarah Palin, why don't get them yourself.I'm curious, what is it about Sarah governing you like?

    Reply

  11. Vivacious_Vixen
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 19:44:00

    Oh Laura, does BJ seem like it pays attention to FACTS? It is about how BJ feeeels that matters.

    Reply

  12. JBodine
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 19:58:00

    what is it about Sarah governing you like?
    I don't live in Alaska, I'm not Governor Palin's neighbor for one. You could help and give me some facts. The facts we would want are based on the charges Syrin makes.
    (1). Governor Palin has lied. I have researched the net, and can find no factual lie. Oh sure palinhaters charge it, but you ask for just one, and silence. I will waite for that one answer.
    "what is it about Sarah governing you like? Thanks for asking, that is nice of you to be interested in possibly a different point of view. She is so like me, personally conservative, libertarian in approach to government. The less government does, the more liberty I have, the more government does the less liberty I have. She does not govern with an agenda other than to make the government reflect the will of the people, sometimes she may have to argue with you and inform you why it is not good that you get whatever you want. For example when you want something from government and in order for the government to give it to you, the government has to take it from me. Resisting that is Conservative. Letting you do what you want as long as you do not impare the equal enjoyment by others is Libertarian.
    As for ACES and AGIA, I read the Alaska Constitution and the enabling statute.
    Governor Palin takes the Constitutional charge to manage the natural resources to the maximum benefit of the people of Alaska seriously. The Oil Companies run their business for the maximum benifit of their shareholders, that is their charge and they practice it with all the dilegence Governor Palin does for Alaska. Governor Palin did not raise taxes on the oil companies, she put forth legislation to correct the deficiencies, of the ppt of the Murkowski Administration, everyone new changes were needed. Governor Palin left the tax rate the same, the Democrates and some Republicans joining in raised the rate 2.5% from 22.5 to 25% and escalated some of the scale, The Governor went along with their changes, as they are the representatives of the people. They would not have done it if the folks did not want it.
    AGIA, I like that this was put to open bid, never liked backroom deals. I admit I don't know to much about it, but I like the process. This is such a big project, I'm sure going down the line there is going to be some agreements and partnerships between the producers and the Builders to get this thing done. It is difficult, but if the sniping would stop and Alaskans presented a unified front, I'm sure you would see more progress. They better do something or Alaska is going to be in a world of hurt, as the Feds won't let them drill and they are going to run out of oil from the current fields.
    Anyway I like the open freemarket approach that the Governor takes. These are issues for Alaska not for me, so their out come is only relevent to Alaska.
    Dan Fagan's article is pure hypurbaly, a rant, silly dreams. If Mr. Fagans arguments are so popular in Alaska, why isn't he Governor.
    If you could help me with the lie question above, I sure would appreciate it. Oh and do you live in Alaska?

    Reply

  13. JBodine
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 20:10:00

    "Oh Laura, does BJ seem like it pays attention to FACTS? It is about how BJ feeeels that matters." Looks like you have proved yourself to be as my last reply to you insinuated. I suppose I am supposed to infer this applies to me. Read Laura's comment, none of you have to agree with me, but be civil,engage,that is what laura did. Show maturity and a reasoned mind. I like that.
    Conservatives think, Liberals feel, I am a Conservative, what are you?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Syrin From Wasilla’s Stats

